Skip navigation

The past weekend is one of the most tiring i had for years. Staying late here in the office to fix what I think, one of the worst problem in Windows 2003. It’s none other than volume shadow copy services (vss) that’s been hunting Microsoft and the NT systems administrators for several years now. The vss error below makes your NTbackup program crippled (as well as other 3rd party backup program that relies on shadow copies to backup open files).

======================
 Event ID: 8194
 Description:
 Volume Shadow Copy Service error: Unexpected error querying for the IVssWriterCallback interface.  hr = 0x8007000e.
For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.
 ======================
 Event ID: 12302
 Description:
 Volume Shadow Copy Service error: An internal inconsistency was detected in trying to contact shadow copy service writers.  Please check to see that the Event Service and Volume Shadow Copy Service are operating properly.

For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.
======================
This is the first time I exhausted the power of google trying to find a working solution. There were a lot of unresolved posts about the same problem; One of the concern is that this started form Windows 2003 but even the latest Vista suffers from the same problem.

I’ve tried most of the like-able solutions suggested by Microsoft Engineers and other professionals but those fixes were unable to repair the problem. The only solution that came to me as i have no other options anymore, was to do a repair-installation (not clean installation) on my Windows 2003 PDC. But that damn idea came up after 3 tiring nights of trying to solve the problem.

Well, hopefully, by tomorrow, the helpdesk team will no longer report another backup failure.

3 Comments

  1. I’m seeing a very similiar problem and have spent a good week trying to bust this issue. I have had PSS work with me to no avail so far.

    Have you found your repair install resolved the issue?

    Let us know on here how it turns out and if I get a solution I’ll be happy to post a comment back.

  2. Hi Keith. The repair installation did its job. Our server is now able to do backups. I was able to experiment with this risky method on our main Windows 2003 PDC as my system have hardware level Raid 1. So i just pulled out one of the mirror drive and did the Windows repair installation (“Upgrade mode” when you run setup while on Windows) on the other drive.

    Good luck.

  3. hello there and thank you for your info – I have certainly picked up something new
    from right here. I did however expertise a few technical issues using this web site, as I experienced to reload
    the site lots of times previous to I could
    get it to load properly. I had been wondering if your web host is
    OK? Not that I’m complaining, but slow loading instances times will
    very frequently affect your placement in google and could damage your quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords.

    Anyway I am adding this RSS to my e-mail and could look out for a lot more of your respective exciting content.
    Ensure that you update this again soon.


Leave a comment